top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • goodforthought

fair or not 2.13.18

I realized that as I was shopping in malls and popular stores, the clothing and items were cheap. I had to re-think and re-train my habits that instead of retreating to indulging myself in stuff I do not need, I thought about what it took to make it. If this item is really worth that much, why is it being sold for so little? If it is selling for so little, is the manufacturer getting little also? How does one make an exquisite fabric for such little money? Simple, sweatshops. According to Dictionary.com, a sweatshop is a shop employing workers at low wages, for long hours, and under poor conditions. Yes, sweatshops exist today.

There is no guarantee to know who made every single thing that you own, but you can rely on some sources more graciously than others. These are the things that I want to build awareness towards.

For example, Fair-trade, B-corporations, social enterprises, and made in the USA products (sweatshops are found in the USA too, but sources say that it is less likely) are more trust worthy than some.

Here are some things to look for in companies that you buy from:

None of these four links are sponsoring me or are my sources, I am just spreading the information along as tools for us to use when shopping. I hope you find them helpful and please continue to do your own research!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page