top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • goodforthought

Fair Trade is Not Charity

Fair Trade is not Charity


My friend told me this years ago when she was sharing her heart for ethical fashion with me. This statement has stayed with me in that time as I remember why I gave up fast fashion and started doing my best to support fairly made products.


We don’t get to decide who gets treated how, but we do get to figure out who is worth supporting and do something about injustice through our purchases, big or small.

It warms my heart to the fullest when someone tells me of their ethical purchases and how excited they are about it. I bet the person being supported behind that product is just as excited too.


Truthfully, most companies like this are not just asking for hand-outs. These companies want to empower the people they are helping with economic opportunities and bring jobs to people who need hope and dignity. Fair trade is not enabling people, it’s bringing opportunity for growth and living wages to people who have not been treated fairly.

Buying fair trade certified food, products, home décor, spa essentials, and fashion are truly making a difference. This is what is means to BE THE CHANGE. It’s a new year with the same global struggles. What are you going to do about it?


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page