top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • goodforthought

first off 1.15.18

I am a learner. I am open. I want to trust that my openness can bring good things. I am not an expert in this field in any way, I am simply an active observer and participant in seeking to find better ways to spend my money.

This means that changes in my easy, convenient, and self-centered life need to happen because what is easy is not always right, what is convenient is not always benefitting, and what is self-centered is not taking care of those around me. I cannot help but be a consumer, how can I be an ethical one? This is where my journey is about to start.

It was summer of 2017 when I was burdened by stories from friends of abuse in relationships to their emotional, physical, and sexual bodies. I felt heavy in knowing that there is so much brokenness in every person I see and meet. Through stories told and tears rolled my heart was so shaken for the evil and thoughtlessness of this planet.

In my distraught for others I heard words in my head ask me:

“What are you going to do about it?”

What a profound, yet simple question I was suddenly faced with.

God already did something, something drastic. Although, He has asked us to partner with Him in taking care of souls and sharing what powerful and life-changing things He has done. Christianity is not about getting into heaven, it is about partnering with Jesus in loving people and initially dying to ourselves for the sake of the cross. For He has done great things for us and I cannot ignore it.

My dear friend Abigail gave me a picture frame for my birthday, and if you know me well, you know that I love pictures for many reasons. Instead of a picture though, I wanted a reminder of words that I felt were put on my heart at a moment of brokenness and crisis for others.

“What are you going to do about it?”

Not forceful, but simple. I do not have to do anything big, I just have to do something. This is where I began. I put that question inside the frame, to look at when I feel like there is too much wickedness and war in the lives of myself and the people around me.

Instead of centering this question on myself, I realized that no, it is not what am I going to do, what are we going to do? I am not alone. How can I partner and help with what God is already doing in the lives of people on this planet? I do not plan on being anyone’s building of strength, but perhaps a pillar of hope and help when it is needed.

This blog is to build awareness of the need for a different lifestyle to benefit the world. Whether religious or not, action can be made to make a better living for those around us. Why? Because people matter.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page