top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • goodforthought

Isiko 1.24.19

I find my inspiration from the outdoors, conversations with people, and through visiting new places. I love supporting people locally & globally in their endeavors, passion projects, & work.

Someone who inspires me is Janna Barker. I was able to ask Janna about her journey with her company called Isiko, which is a Zulu/SiSwati word meaning art, tradition, and culture. Her company embodies this as she helps indigenous people have a market for their crafts.

She grew up in a family of creatives who had their own ways of making art and she played around with ceramics in her high school class and later went back to it to learn more about the art.

Her passion for helping indigenous craft and culture thrive is contagious as she brings her jewelry making, ceramics, and their art to the table.

Starting your own company can be challenging and frightening, but I am thankful for people like Janna who are using their passions for good throughout the world.

Not only does she support people on a global encounter by selling their products, she also gives back with 10% of the profit. She truly has a beautiful collection of global goods for the global good.

Today I am inspired by her because she took the leap, which may have felt like baby steps at the time, but she did it anyways. Sometimes you just have to create your own journey instead of waiting for it to come to you, I am learning this right now in my life too, thank you Janna.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page