top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • goodforthought

Melody 1.23.18

Before my visit to Florida to be in my friend’s wedding, (CONGRATS Natalie and Brandon) I looked on the internet to see if there were any fair-trade places near the location I was visiting. Indeed, there was. So my mom and I drove to it so I could check it out (thanks for always going with me, mom). The woman in the store was so welcoming and let us know it was a fair-trade store, I responded with “I know, that’s why we are here.” Through an amazing, astounding, incredible (the list goes on) conversation with her (her name is Melody) we find out a million little ways that we are connected. I can’t share them all with the public because that’s not my place to, but trust me, this was an appointment of true bliss being able to talk with someone else who is so passionate about ethical consumerism. We talked about why we are the way we are, generations and the shifts needed to start something that will matter in the lives of people around us, and the church and its involvement in it.

She recognized my bag (The Tote Project*) and I was wearing a dress by Krochet Kids** (where her niece works). The store was full of fair-trade minded quotes and it was like walking into my own little heaven, and I do believe that it was-because God is being glorified in the truth that this woman is doing all she can to take care of people across the globe.

From the east coast to the west coast, people want to change the way consumerism has taken over and trampled over the people who make the things that we use.

I was not planning on making this my second blog post, but what an encouraging and hopeful moment I had with sweet Melody in Fort Myers, Florida. If you are in the area, check out He, She, and Me in downtown Fort Myers- you will not regret it.

*The Tote Project: Fair-trade bags and totes made with organic cotton. The organization helps people out of human trafficking. They have very cute products. https://www.thetoteproject.com/

**Krochet Kids: Fair-trade company promoting “who made my clothes” in the fashion industry. They have awesome apparel including beanies, bags, t-shirts, and dresses. https://www.krochetkids.org/


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page