top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • goodforthought

zoo 11.7.18

I grew up in Escondido, CA where the Wild Animal Park (now the Safari Park) was the main attraction. My sister and I practically grew up with it as our second home, that and the San Diego Zoo. I always had the intake of information about animal conservation, taking care of animals, their habitats, and how each is so wildly unique. It was not until recently that I realized that my love for zoos does not spread worldwide, I have been so used to zoo’s taking the best care of animals that I was not aware that not all zoos do that.


When I went to Big Bear with my family, we stopped at their zoo, and it was very cool! They had bears there that were going to be euthanized from a mid-western national park because of their troubling and enduring behaviors. There was even a three-legged bear that was rescued from the dangers that occurred after it had lost its leg. There were coyotes that people kept as illegal pets, and they couldn’t survive in the wild after their rescue. There were birds that couldn’t fly, injured animals, and more that were taken care of at this zoo. I got to talk to some zookeepers about their experiences and visions for the zoo and I got a brochure that told the story of each animal there. It was a very special day and it made me want to do more research on the zoos that are making a positive impact in the world. I was sure proud to know that the San Diego Zoo is one of the best in the world and I can support their causes because they put the animals first in all circumstances.


I am thankful for the organizations, aquariums, and zoos that are actually treating animals with care and like the incredible and wild beings that they are.

I am thankful for my family and that they love animals and how they are treated too.



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page